Thursday, September 15, 2016

The State of CS:GO - Topic of the Moment & eSports State - Episode 1



The State of the Game: CS:GO

Topic of the moment:

Valve... Why are there no 128 tick servers?

For casual CS:GO players, this question may not be very important at all. First of all I will say that the current servers on CS:GO are 64-tick servers. 

So what is the difference between 64-tick and 128-tick? 

I think this following video can highlight the differences without me telling you. 


So if you fall into the crowd that follow the competitive eSports scene and wish to practice and play solo or with some friends. You will know that 128 tick servers are generally known to be much better...

CS:GO has come out now for 4 years, and after generating millions and millions of dollars from skins and other ways of revenue, 128 tick servers have yet to be brought into the game. 

When you watch pro's play MM (and take it really... not seriously) they can already point out the flaws of how some shots don't register and the experience is just not worth it to play. EITHER THAT or they run into hackers... but yes.. Hackers... is a topic for another day.

My first hope would be to have them integrate 128 tick servers, they have the money to do so, and it allows for more accurate game play. This is almost a no-brainer, I just hope it happens sooner than later. 


The State of CS:GO eSports 

Image result for NIP

So recently we had the Starladder Series Lan that ended up with NIP vs G2 eSports. A Swedish team with a stand-in in Maikalelelelelelelel(I'm sorry I had to) Vs a French Team that has been strong since they surprised many in winning ECS Season 1 league. Since then they have been hot and Shox and Scream have been fragging consistently. 

However, the emergence of NIP was really out of no where, #1 they have a stand-in. #2 The home crowd Navi and Virtus Pro would be rated much higher by more analysts. 

G2 on the other hand kept up with their strong play, I like what I see from them but I think their reliance on Scream and Shox making sick individual plays, will not last forever... So if they can do another french shuffle, I am not sure that G2 have quite that potential to win Majors or top tournaments vs other top teams like SK Gaming, Astralis, Navi, Virtus Pro. 

IMO, I would like for them to add another piece to the team to allow them to make it to the next level. Perhaps swapping Smithz out for a more stable AWP-er. 

Nonetheless, congrats to Ninjas in Pyjamas! The only team ever to win a big lan tournament with a stand in. 


Thursday, August 25, 2016

eSports Growth - The CSGO Betting Fiasco. CSGO Hacking and CSGO in general.

With the relatively recent CSGO Betting fiasco. I just wanted to share my thoughts on this situation and just go for a bit of a rant.

Here goes.

So eSports is still a very new thing in society but I have seen it grow over the past decade at an immense rate of growth. Fans everywhere, players becoming famous for their skills OR for having great fun twitch channels to watch.

This undoubtedly young scene would also attract some sketch people. In this short article I would mention people like Phantomlord and any others who fixed rolls or betting scams.

As the scene grows, I personally thought betting was a really nice back bone on how CSGO can evolve. Regular sports have betting, why not eSports right? Well now that we know there was a lot of scandals I can only say this seems like a natural thing that would happen, we just need to wipe out the scumbags and start legitimately with valve more involved hopefully.

Ok on to the topic of Phantomlord.




The sly son of a bitch. From the days where he became famous for his dumb Karthus Revive/TP strat and how he acted on stream, I had a disliking for him but I felt he was a necessary evil.

I saw him change drastically when he switched over to CSGO, he slowly began to become an addict and now we know he was scamming outcomes... and becoming even more addicted to a game that could only end with him being caught.

Personally I believe in second chances but after the consequences have been made. I do believe he should face some sort of jail time and I am sure he has a bunch of lawsuits to fight.

His 100K dream donations thing already to be was a huge flag for MONEY LAUNDERING Technique 101???? But I kept quiet.

Now more has come out... I really think there is more investigation to be done and I hope the full extent of the law is enforced on Phantomlord and any associates. This stuff cannot stand and he has to suffer the consequences and hopefully stay the fuck out of the eSports scene. We do not need people like that moving forward.

Now to CSGO in general.

There will be a loss in views but I believe in the growth of the game. Perhaps Valve can do the compendiums that it does got DOTA2. We are going to be taking a step back to take a step forward.

I have not been a fan of the new game gun sounds however... they all sound like they came from the same audio file just tuned differently. I pray to god the AK and M4 sounds remain the same...

The remaining part of the year looks good and the new teams forming look promising for new talents and powerhouse changes in team ranks. SK, G2, VirtusPro, Fnatic, and GODSENT all look pretty decent at this point, we should be in for some good CS.


CS GO Hacking



Now this is something that has come up recently with Thoorin and RL. I have never used hackers before in CS. I have... however seen countless number of people/friends cheat and they get away with it. Some hide it better than others but playing on a CSGO rating of about SMFC (At the moment - I hope to get GE sometime when I get more free time to play), there are hackers everywhere. MM is quite literally a joke sometimes.

As for professional's hacking, I do believe there are enough suspicious clips to warrant that valve and tournament runners to take greater measures in tracking input and output from the players and their gear.

As a Programmer by trade (also a junior one) I know Valve will always be a step behind and I think they have done a great job so far of VAC-ing people. Its just hiring programmers to try to catch the private cheats... lets hope they can do it cause seirously... some of these clips I've seen scream sketchy to me....

Tuesday, February 2, 2016

eSports, you've come a long way... My eSports Journey.

This is my eSports Journey

Before we start I should give a brief intro to my insight in eSports and what I've done in this industry. I was an eSports Journalist for over 2 years for Fomos.kr when they had their Global section and I have worked at companies that had held Official Tournaments for the WCS (StarCraft 2), Street Fighter IV (Capcom Pro Tour), Hearthstone (BlizzCon), and League of Legends (feat. Invictus Gaming and Hong Kong eSports.) 

I was a Masters SC2 player, a Diamond 4 LoL player, Rank 3 (highest rank) in Hearthstone, and SMFC (B4 Rank Nerf)  in CSGO. At one point I was rank 19 on dota.hk ladder for DOTA1.

I've been following the eSports scene for as long as I can remember, back when there were OSL and MSLs for StarCraft Broodwar, when we had the legends of JulyZerg, Saviour, iloveoov, Jaedong, an God himself Flash... I remember the WCG, that catch theme song and the Korean dominance in Starcraft BW.

I recall the moments that Blizzard took the stag in South Korea when they announced StarCraft 2, "Hell, It's About Time..." 

I've seen the rise of a custom map game called Defence Of The Ancients... I recall playing the Hong Kong ladder (dota.hk) which had close to 20,000 players/accounts alone (of which I peaked at #19).

At those times I really asked myself, can these games go big? Starcraft 2 seemed to be a great kick-off and I believe it is what started this boom we have seen since its release.

Starcraft Broodwar, Starcraft 2, Quake, CS 1.6 


As StarCraft Broodwar, Quake, and CS 1.6 kicked off the foundation of what we call eSports, we have certainly come a long way...





When Starcraft 2 Wings of Liberty came out, it was almost another reboot of eSports and it became the biggest eSports game, companies like MLG, Dreamhack, Redbull Battlegrounds, NASL, etc... All wanted in and the scene was flourishing. 

LoL

A small game company called Riot had a game really explode into the eSports scene in the form of League of Legends. I recall hearing about their Season 1 championship with a decent viewship (100k viewers I think??). But no one could have seen far this game has come. 

In 2011/2012, eSports took another step forward in the right direction. Bravo to Riot and how they were able to push eSports to where it is currently today. The viewership grew, the production level was and is amazing... and year by year viewership has been stable, reporting millions of viewers at the World Championships.  

DOTA 2.


Parallel to the success of LoL was DOTA2, with the acquisition into Valve, DOTA2 has had quite the impressive run themselves. The game has a long history, and I really respect the way Valve have handled DOTA2, HOWEVER, not many games... If any, have their own IceFrog. Their idea of community funded prize pool was ingenious and really pushed the popular of this game, even making news lines of how massive their International Tournament was. 

Counter Strike.

This game, along with StarCraft means a lot to me as they were my first gaming experiences in general, I've grown up hoping one day t
hat these games grow to a stage where we can have a popular game where it's like sports where there are Pro Teams competing. 

Now CS 1.6 was and still is a great game.`Global Offensive has had its time to mature and now has taken off since the end of 2014. I must say I never followed the NIP 86-0 era but I certainly knew about it. Now we see teams like Fnatic dominating with other great teams like EnvyUS and Astralis.

I see great things for CSGO's future, and the announcement of the Turner E-League is a good step forward. This should definitely spark interest in bigger investors to jump into this industry which I feel can only be a good thing to grow. 

General eSports.

eSports has come a long way, and I feel it still has a long way to go yet. We see in South Korea, they have a proper system with grass roots into how to become a pro. We then look over to the rest of the world and I can see that they are playing catch up. HOWEVER, the production level, the casters, maybe not all the game play... has improved.

2016 is going to be a good year I feel for eSports. We have matured scenes in CSGO, LoL, SC2, and DOTA2, now it is about taking the right steps forward to grow the industry and it starts with the details; and I am confident we will get there. 

Now its about taking the next few, but important steps forward. Hopefully as I work on more topics to talk about I'll touch on certain issues and concerns I have with the industry and also some of the positives. I am no Thoorin... but I enjoy giving my opinions.  

by: Michael "DexVitality" Chow

Saturday, December 19, 2015

New Contenting Pending.

Hey guys, I realize I have not posted much about eSports lately so I've hit a bit of a soft reset on this blog. 

I am working on some possible interviews and editorials on how I see eSports, before this was a blog based around LoL and SC2 tips and analysis. 

Hang tight, and hopefully you will enjoy my articles, some will be quite long, but hopefully I'll keep it out of the TLDR range. 

@Dexvitality

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Interview: Sebastian Sjoberg – PolygonRevue

Interview With:

Sebastian Sjoberg – PolygonRevue




About Sebastian: The pursuit of combining passion with learning and online business continues to be the leading motto behind PolygonRevue and GGvision. Sebastian Sjoberg is 27 years of age and has lived in Britain, Sweden and elsewhere and currently studies Mobile Application Development at a place known as Hyper Island. For him, electronic sports are above all awesome – but also the most interesting online platform for trying out new things.

Nationality: Swedish

Sebastian Sjoberg is a Shout-Caster on YouTube that goes under the ID of PolygonReVue and leads the production company called GGvisionTV that mainly revolves around professional Starcraft 2. He has also been a co-host of the online talkshow GGRated together with Jonathan Janevski and Roger 'xHydrax' Mendes.




Getting to Know Sebastian Sjoberg.

Hello Sebastian thank you for taking the time to do an interview with me. To start off could you give a brief introduction to you who are and what you do for those who are not familiar with what you do in the Starcraft 2 Community?


 
Hello Michael, it's a pleasure to do an interview with you. I am, to be brief, on my way out of my mid-twenties and living in Sweden after having spent quite a few years in London, UK. Right now I'm studying Mobile Applications development at a school called Hyper Island.

In the Starcraft community I have been active since long before The Sequel was released, mainly focusing on doing interviews with progamers and known characters from the scene. Since a couple of months back I have entered the world of casting (commentating professional matches and uploading such videos to Youtube). With that material I try to offer a unique spin on a familiar concept, infusing it with a lot of extra ingredients and fluff – as I believe that such things enhance the viewer experience and make it more fun to watch. In this I work closely with Teamliquidpro.com and their players.



Since the release of Starcraft 2 Beta, there have been many many shout-casters come out through YouTube and other video platforms such as yourself, Day[9], HuskyStarcraft, HDStarcraft, and BlizzShouter (Crota). What made you get into shout-casting and hosting web shows?



If anything, I wish that I'd had the foresight to start casting at the release of the Beta and not a year later. Above all, it's great thing and Starcraft 2 at its very best. Nowadays it's getting increasingly difficult to fight over the viewers' attention as there is so much good and easily accessible content out there.

The reason I do it is the same as why I started my Starcraft: Brood War blog back in 2008. I love this game, and I love providing additional content around it for others to enjoy. Viewer comments and appreciation are my rewards, and the sole act of watching epic Starcraft 2 unfold and talking about it. It's awesome, simple as that.

However, I have always had an entrepreneurial vision in mind behind my work with Starcraft and that is still very much there. When I first started my original website I knew nothing about coding or writing for the web. Nor did I have any prior knowledge about video rendering or recording gameplay footage. Starcraft has forced me to learn a thousand new things, and that has taken me to where I am today. GGvisionTV is a spearhead production company that tries out new things, new technologies in the name of fun and SC2 (and soon, Diablo 3....). This is then transferred onto other areas where the experiences and learnings can be applied to other, more commercial, fields. In a roundabout way, that's how Starcraft 2 pays my bills and that's pretty awesome, too.



You are a Co-Host on a show called GG-Rated can you give us a quick description about who your other Co-Hosts are and perhaps what the show is all about?



GG-Rated has been dismantled, I am sad to say. This interview is the first time I talk about this officially, and as such this is an exclusive announcement.

Me, Jonathan Janevski (founder of the show) and fellow caster Roger 'xHydrax' Mendes were for over half a year meeting every Monday of every week to talk about Starcraft 2 and its professional scene. It was great fun and we had some truly SC2-famous guests on the show and many loyal viewers. We never had the huge breakthrough in the scene that we were always aiming for and in the end the show fell victim to fatigue, as is a common fate among internet collaborations. GG-Rated was a strong concept, but in this subculture that is Starcraft 2 it's still all about getting your name out there through the right channels and it's safe to say we did not manage to convince the right people in the right places that we were worth tuning in to. Simply doing it for the fun of it, despite the small crowd, was not enough in the end.

I do miss the GG-Rated crew and hope to work with them again in the future. Shoutouts to Iceman and xHydrax, yo!



On top of your YouTube Channel and Web Shows, you also work in Collaboration with Team Liquid Pro on a show called GGVision Gladiators could you tell us a little bit of the show?



The GGvision Liquid Colosseum is a direct collaboration between me and my company and Teamliquidpro.com, which is a very different thing from the main community site Teamliquid.net. It's the result of my networking throughout the years with progamers and leading minds in the scene, and after meeting the team leader Victor 'Nazgul' Goossens at Dreamhack Summer earlier this year we came to an agreement.

The Liquid Colosseum videos are based on exclusive replays that fans and viewers otherwise would never have seen. The Liquid progamers collect all of their replay files for internal sharing and practice, and hence there is A LOT of truly entertaining games of professional Starcraft 2 rusting away in closed archives. I approached Liquid about giving me access to these so that I could cast the material and then having it featured on their site. It is meant to be something in between the common casual Youtube cast and the high-profile tournaments out there, giving fans of particular Liquid progamers a chance to see their favorites in new and exciting settings.

So far I have had the privilege to invite HayprO and Jinro to the Liquid Colosseum, where they have taken the roles of GGvision Gladiators – facing six different foes on as many days. I have created a narrative around these series where progamers are called into an arena to fight for glory and love for the game, and even though this is just 'fluff' to enhance a series of non-chronological games it has so far been well received by viewers.

The GGvision Liquid Colosseum is a step in a new direction when it comes to casting Starcraft 2. The days are gone when simple straight up play-by-play commentary does the trick, as a caster you have to add something more. I'm striving to create something akin to the original Starcraft: Brood War scene that was entirely based on the tournaments held on Korean TV. There it was the gloss, the context and the continuity that made it extra awesome. I remember those days, and try to work towards that in Starcraft 2.



PolygonReVue is your ID, what is the story behind this name?



PolygonReVue is a name that means nothing, but is suggestive of everything – at least something digital. Nowadays I refer people to my Youtube channel, www.ggvision.tv, rather than my website but the name in itself was chosen based on how it could mean different things. In the future I will reveal projects that delve into other areas than Starcraft 2 and then I won't cursing myself because my channel is called 'SebStarcraft'.

Having said that, I like GGvision more ;)



There are many aspiring casters out there; even I am considering perhaps starting as a hobby. Is there any advice you could give to these people on shout-casting?



I strongly recommend everyone out there to try casting if they're thinking about it. It's a wonderful way of learning so much, and to get out of your comfort zone. You need to acquire certain technical skills, you will need to develop a tough skin that can hold against the trolls, and you have be a good communicator. All of these things, casting Starcraft 2 can teach you.

At this point in time, you will not receive many viewers by walking in other casters' footsteps though. If you want people to watch your stuff, you need to break new ground. I recommend that you go crazy, and think of new ways of doing something otherwise familiar. The pioneer days of Starcraft 2 are over, every obvious surface has already been built upon. To make it today you will have to go beyond the main tracks and explore new areas. I can't imagine anything more exciting, so go for it!

Also, work with others from day one – it's the best way to learn and grow, and to have fun doing it.


Getting to Know Sebastian Sjobergs Opinion on Starcraft 2 and E-Sports

Starcraft 2 is quite a new game and since its release we have seen a plethora of major tournaments being run (NASL, GSL, GSTL, IPL, IEM, Dream Hack), many people have said that the hype of Starcraft 2 is starting to calm down, do you think that having so many tournaments is ultimately good for E-Sports? Would the plethora of tournaments cause spectators to lose interest in watching as they are provided with so much content to watch?



I agree with those who say that there is too much tournament content out there today, as viewers are overwhelmed and instead become fatigued. Maybe the numbers continue to grow, but as for myself I've come to miss out on a lot of excellent Starcraft 2 lately – simply because I don't have the time or the energy to keep track of everything. As a sole Youtube caster it's also increasingly difficult to get a slice of the total audience, and it would be easier to work around that if the tournament scene was more regulated.

However, this is the nature of the beast and these are still the early years. Some tournaments will die, new will crop up, others will merge. Maybe Starcraft 2 will dwindle as well, though I believe it will stay strong for at least the better part of a decade. It should be in the companies' interest to work together, establish seasons during which certain tournaments take place in a way that does not conflict with others etc. Right now what we have is over-saturation, but such a state is never permanent.

In this climate it is nigh impossible to have a strong voice as an individual blogger/caster/community member – there's just too much noise. The first ones to figure out a content module that straddles the current chaos will be the next generation of Huskies and Day[9]s.



Starcraft 2 has really sparked a huge growth in e-Sports, where do you see the e-Sports scene in 2-5 years?



In less than five years, the viewer will have the ultimate power over his or her consumption of content. The producers – lone Youtubers or the GSL – will be the ones fighting over the viewers' attention, the consumer will always have the final say. The ability to choose what to watch, when and how will be a natural right of the individual – made possible by increasingly fast broadband and powerful mobile devices. E-sport will never make on TV, because TV is dying. The internet is where our lives take place, and it's changing rapidly. E-Sports producers, progamers or media companies, will STRUGGLE with this, as it's far from obvious how to effectively monetize this type of content. And how to keep their fickle audience that get bored so easily.

E-Sport will be even more huge in five years, and quite different from now. Starcraft 2 will still be there, but the current landscape will not. The strong point of this game is that it has infinite replayability, rather than being built around the cool, new, flavor of the week-3D engine. The divide between casual gamers and hardcore E-Sport fans will have become more fluent also, as there is no turning back to the time when electronic sports was a hobby for closed elitist circles in the backrooms of the internet. Transparancy FTW!



It is hard to talk about Starcraft without bringing up Koreans. Starcraft 2 has been out just over a year now and we have already seen a clear difference in skill between the Korean Pro-gamers and Foreign Pro-gamers. To you, what is the difference? Why are the Koreans so far ahead? And do you feel the foreigners stand a chance in the future?



Foreigners do stand a chance, now and in the future. The difference between Koreans and The Rest Of Us lie not in blood or Confucian philosophy, it's all about infrastructure. In Korea it has for over a decade been legitimate and more than okay to pursue progaming as a career and give everything that it takes to hone your skills. There are coaches, analysts, dedicated houses and social status there to support the phenomenon. In Europe and North America that is not the case, though we have seen new movements in that direction.

Koreans are better because they can be, people in the so-called West have a lower ceiling of skill as a collective group. It's all about the little things, like whether you're able to call yourself a progamer and being recognized for it or being met with, at best, void curiosity. In that regard, Koreans will always and forever be miles ahead. Luckily, HuK has shown us that it can be done. Others will follow him.



Finally, do you have any shoutouts to anyone you would like to give? Thank you for taking the time to do this interview once again.



Thank you for offering me this opportunity. I'd like to say to all of my fans and viewers that you're all legitimate Superdudes/dudettes, and that you're the reason I do what I do. Again I'd like to give shoutouts to the GG-Rated crew, xHydrax and TheIceman, and to my personal friend and avid viewer – Qke.

As for announcements, GGvisionTV is all about pushing the envelope and doing what's not been done. Other things are boring, and for me Starcraft 2 is all about fun. Beyond the Liquid Colosseum, new things are stirring in the GGvision cauldron, and you can look forward to new cinematographic experiences. Winter is coming....

GG!

-Sebastian Sjoberg


twitter: @polygonrevue




In conclusion to the interview, I would like to thank him for taking the time to have a quick talk with me today and answering my questions. Perhaps we will get another interview in the future. I want to wish him all the best in his future endeavors!! Long live E-Sports.

For those who want to check out his work please go visit his website at www.ggvision.tv

For his YouTube account the link is right here >>> http://www.youtube.com/user/PolygonreVue 

Finally Follow Him On Twitter! @PolygonRevue

_________________________________________________________

Michael Chow

Handle: DexVitalitY

Follow me on Twitter @Dexvitality 

Monday, August 15, 2011

Vinson "Crota" Yuen Interview

This is an interview I had with Crota that was posted on Fomos earlier this year and I wanted to share this on my blog as well! Enjoy.

Interview:

Vinson “Crota” Yuen – Starcraft 2 Shout Caster (aka. Blizshouter)





Along side Crota, there are also many popular Stacraft 2 shoutcasters out there currently on the e-Sports scene on www.YouTube.Com such as HuskyStarcraft, HDStarcraft, Day[9],
PolygonreVue, and AskJoshy.



Hello Vinson and thank you for doing this interview, I know you do a lot of shout-casting for Starcraft 2 and even some Warcraft 3 replays every so often. I have seen most of your videos and I have to say, I am a fan!

Q.1 First and foremost, could you give us a brief intro about yourself and what made you go into casting Starcraft 2? I see you have over 700 VODs on YouTube which is remarkable.

I got into StarCraft and eSports back in college with players such as Boxer, Nada and Grrr.  At the time I wasn't aware of the difference in skill between Korean and foreigner StarCraft players until I saw how quickly the Korean players were able to surpass all others.  I knew the world of eSports would grow quickly but knew that the US was not ready to embrace it as Korea.  In the years following StarCraft Broodwar and the introduction of YouTube and the growing popularity of WarCraft III in China, I realized that StarCraft II was going to be a big hit and change the foundation of eSports.  Wanting to be involved in the SC2 community and knowing that I didn't have the time to dedicate myself as a professional player, I felt offering my insights through commentary would be the best use of my time.  From that point on I decided to put up new videos 6 days a week to keep my content fresh and up to date for even the most avid StarCraft II fans.  Today I now have over 2,000 VODs on multiple channels covering StarCraft II and WarCraft III.


Q. 2 I am sure many people ask the same thing when they see your ID. Why are you called Crota, does it stand for something?

That is a question I get a lot.  Although Crota is a unique name, there really isn't much of a story behind it.  I wanted to find a name that was short that was easy to read.  After typing out a number of names, I finally decided to stick with Crota.  However the marketing geniuses at Blizzard may have something to do with it.  I did not realize Crota backwards is actually "at orc."  Perhaps my love for Blizzard game goes so deep, I don't even realize it.

Q.3 What can people expect from watching your Starcraft 2VODs? Are you more analytical, humorous? Or should people check it out for themselves.

I definitely try to be more analytical and tactical in my commentaries often going into the numbers behind specific strategies are good.   Protoss Armor with Guardian shield effective against early Marines.  Why Zealot 8x2 attacks how different calculations against the Marauder 20x1 attack.  All of these small differences and facts have a great impact on decision making in game and the outcome of battles.  I try my best to present them so that all viewers, veterans and those new to real time strategy games, can learn something.

Q.4 Starcraft 2 has really sparked a rather huge growth in the e-Sports scene. Where do you see e-Sports as a whole including Starcraft 2 in the future let’s say 2-5 years?

Esports is ready to take the world by storm and StarCraft 2 will be one of the leading titles at all major events in the years to come.  As long as Blizzard works to maintain proper game balance and the community continues to develop new maps and different play styles, I don't see any reason why StarCraft 2 wouldn't be relevant in 10 years. 

Q.5 I am sure there are viewers out there that are inspired to become shout casters such as yourself, what advice would you give the young budding casters?

Take criticism to heart but choose to work on and change one thing at a time.  Until you find your own voice and flow, the commentaries and casts will sound slow and forced.  Keep at it and you'll find success.

Q.6 Where can people find you online? Do you use Twitter?

I have a facebook fan page setup under Crota which is also linked to my twitter Crota_uswest
.  The Twitter was setup during WarCraft 3.

Q. 7 And finally, do you have any shoutouts to anyone you would like to give? Thanks for doing this Interview, I know you have a lot on your schedule casting so many great Starcraft 2 games.

Shoutouts to the great staff at SCLegacy.com, my friends at Machinima and for the people at vVv-gaming for involving me in a new project.




To check out more info on Crota and to watch his VODs go to the links provider here:




I would like to thank Vinson “Crota” Yuen for taking the time to do this interview and would like to wish him to continue his success in the casting industry in e-Sports! 

New MarineKingPrime Inspired Keyboard :)


The keyboard I currently have is very similar to the Samsung QSenn DT-35 in specs. I bought a Black and White one and decided to make them MKP Keyboards :).

It is a cheap keyboard but the keys are smooth and quite comfortable, for a non-mechanical keyboard I think it is quite a bargain to get at roughly $40 HKD for one.

Here is the white one: http://dexvitality.blogspot.com/2011/08/if-there-is-one-important-thing-look.html

Sunday, July 31, 2011

Koreans - What is the Difference?

Koreans - What is the Difference?



I was able to catch a few MLG Games so far this weekend and I couldn’t help but just go onto the MLG Site to check the results of the pool play and.... So I see MVP.DongRaeGu SlayerS`Boxer, FnaticRain, and IMMvP on top of there groups, and all the second place finishers were all Korean except for two: Liquid HuK and EG.IdrA.

And this really does make a statement for the foreign scene doesn’t it? You can even say that both Idra and Huk can be considered Korean Players now considering the amount of time they have spent over in Korea training...

So this leads to the question... what is the difference? It can’t really be genetics. No one is born with the skill to be great at RTS games...

There is only one answer in my opinion and that is mentality. In my opinion, there is no such thing as taking things too seriously. When I get angry and mad over small details, friends and other players will always tell me, chill... it is only just a game... and this really does seem to represent the Foreign mentality... it might not apply to everyone but the majority...

So... when will the quote on quote, professionals in the Foreign scene be able to compete on the same level as the Koreans, sure, they can take some games off them here and there but they may have won some battles but always seem to lose the war.

We even have lower tier Korean pros come over and dominate, players like ST_Squirtle and Ace, and to an extent ST_July and WeMadeFox.Moon...

Ultimately, it all comes down to hard work and working efficiently. Perhaps massing ladder games and custom games with no real thought put into it is wrong. I think one big reason for the Korean success is really efficient use of practice time... They think ahead, they have coaches that do that for them also which is also another very important factor...

I really do think Foreign teams should try to get coaches for Starcraft 2, people who understand the game enough that can keep the players in line and no have them joke around during practice all too much. Foreign teams don’t seem to have that, they are all really given the freedom to do what they choose and that might not be the best way...

I see foreigners now making strides towards becoming more “Korean” in the sense that they are now trying to make pro-gamer houses modeled after the South Korean teams, and that is great.

in conclusion, I just think the Korean Progamers play the game with a level that is required of a professional athlete, the dedication of playing the game. For the foreigners, I am not questioning their dedication, but I feel it is time they push themselves a little more and go past their “limits”, it is all in the mind.... 


_____________

Follow me On Twitter! @DexVitalitY

Tuesday, July 26, 2011

E-Sports Manifesto

I recently found this on Day9's site and I couldn't help but share it here on my Blog also because I agree with everything he says :).

E-Sports Manifesto

"We are more than stereotypes. We are adventurers and doctors, engineers and entrepreneurs, journalists and lawyers, scientists and students. We are smart, ambitious, and competitive. We are gamers.

We believe society has forgotten how to play.

Play keeps us sane in our daily lives. Play keeps us curious, imaginative and directed. It teaches us to learn from our mistakes, to constantly improve, and to stride forward – battling through failures on our road to success.

Play develops relationships and communities. We have fond memories of growing up playing games with our friends and siblings. The gaming experience bonds us together now, as it bonded us then. We discover friends, partners, and spouses while gaming. We game with our children. We transcend international borders when we play.

We believe that our game, StarCraft, is the chess of our generation. StarCraft requires the dexterity of a pianist, the mind of a chess grandmaster, and the discipline of an Olympic trainee. We believe that our game, StarCraft, is as dynamic and exciting a spectator sport as any other. We fill auditoriums to cheer on our favorite gamers. Most of all, we believe our game, StarCraft, is a beautiful platform for play. Whether you’re a veteran, a newbie, male, female, a parent, a student, or a total nongamer, you too can join in the fun.

Our community is smart, supportive, funny, irreverent, international, insightful, and intolerant of bullsh*t.

We think you should be one of us."

Sean Day[9] Plott ~ The gamer Manifesto

Source: http://day9.tv/manifesto/