Koreans - What is the Difference?
I was able to catch a few MLG Games so far this weekend and I couldn’t help but just go onto the MLG Site to check the results of the pool play and.... So I see MVP.DongRaeGu SlayerS`Boxer, FnaticRain, and IMMvP on top of there groups, and all the second place finishers were all Korean except for two: Liquid HuK and EG.IdrA.
And this really does make a statement for the foreign scene doesn’t it? You can even say that both Idra and Huk can be considered Korean Players now considering the amount of time they have spent over in Korea training...
So this leads to the question... what is the difference? It can’t really be genetics. No one is born with the skill to be great at RTS games...
There is only one answer in my opinion and that is mentality. In my opinion, there is no such thing as taking things too seriously. When I get angry and mad over small details, friends and other players will always tell me, chill... it is only just a game... and this really does seem to represent the Foreign mentality... it might not apply to everyone but the majority...
So... when will the quote on quote, professionals in the Foreign scene be able to compete on the same level as the Koreans, sure, they can take some games off them here and there but they may have won some battles but always seem to lose the war.
We even have lower tier Korean pros come over and dominate, players like ST_Squirtle and Ace, and to an extent ST_July and WeMadeFox.Moon...
Ultimately, it all comes down to hard work and working efficiently. Perhaps massing ladder games and custom games with no real thought put into it is wrong. I think one big reason for the Korean success is really efficient use of practice time... They think ahead, they have coaches that do that for them also which is also another very important factor...
I really do think Foreign teams should try to get coaches for Starcraft 2, people who understand the game enough that can keep the players in line and no have them joke around during practice all too much. Foreign teams don’t seem to have that, they are all really given the freedom to do what they choose and that might not be the best way...
I see foreigners now making strides towards becoming more “Korean” in the sense that they are now trying to make pro-gamer houses modeled after the South Korean teams, and that is great.
in conclusion, I just think the Korean Progamers play the game with a level that is required of a professional athlete, the dedication of playing the game. For the foreigners, I am not questioning their dedication, but I feel it is time they push themselves a little more and go past their “limits”, it is all in the mind....
_____________
Follow me On Twitter! @DexVitalitY
