The State of the Game: CS:GO
Topic of the moment:
Valve... Why are there no 128 tick servers?
For casual CS:GO players, this question may not be very important at all. First of all I will say that the current servers on CS:GO are 64-tick servers.
So what is the difference between 64-tick and 128-tick?
I think this following video can highlight the differences without me telling you.
So if you fall into the crowd that follow the competitive eSports scene and wish to practice and play solo or with some friends. You will know that 128 tick servers are generally known to be much better...
CS:GO has come out now for 4 years, and after generating millions and millions of dollars from skins and other ways of revenue, 128 tick servers have yet to be brought into the game.
When you watch pro's play MM (and take it really... not seriously) they can already point out the flaws of how some shots don't register and the experience is just not worth it to play. EITHER THAT or they run into hackers... but yes.. Hackers... is a topic for another day.
My first hope would be to have them integrate 128 tick servers, they have the money to do so, and it allows for more accurate game play. This is almost a no-brainer, I just hope it happens sooner than later.
The State of CS:GO eSports
So recently we had the Starladder Series Lan that ended up with NIP vs G2 eSports. A Swedish team with a stand-in in Maikalelelelelelelel(I'm sorry I had to) Vs a French Team that has been strong since they surprised many in winning ECS Season 1 league. Since then they have been hot and Shox and Scream have been fragging consistently.
However, the emergence of NIP was really out of no where, #1 they have a stand-in. #2 The home crowd Navi and Virtus Pro would be rated much higher by more analysts.
G2 on the other hand kept up with their strong play, I like what I see from them but I think their reliance on Scream and Shox making sick individual plays, will not last forever... So if they can do another french shuffle, I am not sure that G2 have quite that potential to win Majors or top tournaments vs other top teams like SK Gaming, Astralis, Navi, Virtus Pro.
IMO, I would like for them to add another piece to the team to allow them to make it to the next level. Perhaps swapping Smithz out for a more stable AWP-er.
Nonetheless, congrats to Ninjas in Pyjamas! The only team ever to win a big lan tournament with a stand in.